Saturday, April 20, 2024
spot_img

Today Special Day in India

What is Today Special Day in India?

India is home to a rich diversity of cultures and traditions, all of which are celebrated through numerous national, religious and regional holidays throughout the year. National holidays in India provide citizens with an opportunity to celebrate the country’s culture, history, and achievements. These holidays bring people together in spirit as they observe days like Republic Day, Independence Day or Gandhi Jayanti – commemorating key moments in Indian history or paying homage to icons who fought for India’s freedom.

Holidays and Observances in India in 2023

Date Name Type
1 Jan Sunday New Year’s Day Restricted Holiday
14 Jan Saturday Makar Sankranti Restricted Holiday
14 Jan Saturday Lohri Observance
15 Jan Sunday Pongal Restricted Holiday
22 Jan Sunday Lunar New Year Observance
26 Jan Thursday Republic Day Gazetted Holiday
26 Jan Thursday Vasant Panchami Restricted Holiday
5 Feb Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted Holiday
5 Feb Sunday Hazarat Ali’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
14 Feb Tuesday Valentine’s Day Observance
15 Feb Wednesday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
18 Feb Saturday Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri Restricted Holiday
19 Feb Sunday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
7 Mar Tuesday Dolyatra Restricted Holiday
7 Mar Tuesday Holika Dahana Restricted Holiday
8 Mar Wednesday Holi Gazetted Holiday
21 Mar Tuesday March Equinox Season
22 Mar Wednesday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted Holiday
22 Mar Wednesday Ugadi Restricted Holiday
22 Mar Wednesday Gudi Padwa Restricted Holiday
30 Mar Thursday Rama Navami Gazetted Holiday
4 Apr Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
6 Apr Thursday First day of Passover Observance
6 Apr Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
7 Apr Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
9 Apr Sunday Easter Day Restricted Holiday
14 Apr Friday Vaisakhi Restricted Holiday
14 Apr Friday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
15 Apr Saturday Mesadi / Vaisakhadi Restricted Holiday
21 Apr Friday Jamat Ul-Vida (Tentative Date) Restricted Holiday
22 Apr Saturday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar (Tentative Date) Gazetted Holiday
22 Apr Saturday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar (Tentative Date) Muslim, Common local holiday
1 May Monday International Worker’s Day Observance
5 May Friday Buddha Purnima/Vesak Gazetted Holiday
9 May Tuesday Birthday of Rabindranath Restricted Holiday
14 May Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
18 Jun Sunday Father’s Day Observance
20 Jun Tuesday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
21 Jun Wednesday June Solstice Season
29 Jun Thursday Bakrid/Eid ul-Adha (Tentative Date) Gazetted Holiday
3 Jul Monday Guru Purnima Observance
29 Jul Saturday Muharram/Ashura (Tentative Date) Gazetted Holiday
6 Aug Sunday Friendship Day Observance
15 Aug Tuesday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
16 Aug Wednesday Parsi New Year Restricted Holiday
20 Aug Sunday Vinayaka Chathurthi Restricted Holiday
29 Aug Tuesday Onam Restricted Holiday
30 Aug Wednesday Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Restricted Holiday
6 Sep Wednesday Janmashtami (Smarta) Restricted Holiday
7 Sep Thursday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
19 Sep Tuesday Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
23 Sep Saturday September Equinox Season
28 Sep Thursday Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad (Tentative Date) Gazetted Holiday
2 Oct Monday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
15 Oct Sunday First Day of Sharad Navratri Observance, Hinduism
20 Oct Friday First Day of Durga Puja Festivities Observance, Hinduism
21 Oct Saturday Maha Saptami Restricted Holiday
22 Oct Sunday Maha Ashtami Restricted Holiday
23 Oct Monday Maha Navami Restricted Holiday
24 Oct Tuesday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
28 Oct Saturday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
31 Oct Tuesday Halloween Observance
1 Nov Wednesday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth) Restricted Holiday
12 Nov Sunday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
12 Nov Sunday Diwali/Deepavali Gazetted Holiday
13 Nov Monday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
15 Nov Wednesday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
19 Nov Sunday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) Restricted Holiday
24 Nov Friday Guru Tegh Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day Restricted Holiday
27 Nov Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
8 Dec Friday First Day of Hanukkah Observance
15 Dec Friday Last day of Hanukkah Observance
22 Dec Friday December Solstice Season
24 Dec Sunday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
25 Dec Monday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
31 Dec Sunday New Year’s Eve Observance

While we diligently research and update our holiday dates, some of the information in the table above may be preliminary. If you find an error, please let us know.

Top 10 Highest IQ in India 2023

National Holidays in India?

National Holidays also symbolize unity and signify a sense of belonging as Indians from all walks of life come together to mark these special occasions with grand celebrations across the nation. Whether it’s flying kites on Makar Sankranti or bursting crackers on Diwali, celebrating Holi with colors, or having a feast on Eid -India’s national holidays are diverse and full of fun activities. Celebrating these festivities is an integral part of Indian culture and has been bringing people closer together since time immemorial.

National holidays in India also provide much needed respite to citizens from their busy lives as they take a break to observe the day with family and friends. Many stores, banks and other businesses remain closed on such days so that employees can join in the festive spirit. On these occasions, many Indians choose to travel back home and partake in traditional ceremonies like exchanging gifts among family members or making offerings at temples. National holidays in India are truly special occasions that allow us to remember our past and strengthen our bond as a nation.

These days also remind us of the hard work and sacrifices made by those who fought for India’s freedom, such as Mahatma Gandhi, Sardar Patel and Subhas Chandra Bose. National Holidays in India are an occasion when citizens from all walks of life can come together to celebrate the country’s unity and progression. These holidays serve as a reminder of our national pride and remind us what it means to be Indian. Ultimately, they bring out the best in us as human beings, allowing us to appreciate our shared culture, history and achievements. With so much on offer, National Holidays in India are truly something worth looking forward to every year!

Festival Holidays in India

India is home to a rich culture, with various festivals celebrated throughout the year. From Diwali and Holi to Christmas and New Year, each festival has its own unique traditions and fun activities. Whether you’re looking for exciting music, delicious food, thrilling rides or just quality time with family and friends, India has plenty of festival holidays to choose from.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

spot_img

MOST POPULAR POST

Hot Topics

Related Articles